Skip to Content
It is currently April 2nd, 2020, 5:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: .wma button
PostPosted: November 1st, 2008, 6:32 am 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: August 18th, 2005, 10:25 am
Posts: 1254
I noticed a lot of webcasters have buttons for various players (Winamp, WM, realplayer, etc.) I have only included buttons for three basic needs: 96kbps regular mp3 (pls), Live365 96kbps mp3PRO, and 24kbps (for dialup). Earlier this year, WM forced me to add a .wma stream (no doubt MS' efforts at world domination). However, is there any reason to add a .wma button to my website launching my .asx file? Are there any actual quality issues with .wma? Are there PC users for whom a .pls file just won't load at all? I always thought it was a waste of time. Am I wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: .wma button
PostPosted: November 5th, 2008, 5:30 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: February 6th, 2004, 1:39 am
Posts: 4051
Location: Working on projects that make your life more fun.
Giving your users a choice is never a waste of time.

The choice is ultimately up to you.

_________________
James Henline.
http://bestlittlestudio.com
For all your professional photography needs.
Semper Fi.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: .wma button
PostPosted: November 11th, 2008, 1:53 pm 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: August 18th, 2005, 10:25 am
Posts: 1254
I really hate Realplayer and Jetaudio. For those few listeners who use those players exclusively, will my .pls file launch an .mp3 stream? Do I need Realplayer and Jetaudio buttons for the total noobs who don't know what .mp3 is?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: .wma button
PostPosted: November 11th, 2008, 2:14 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: February 6th, 2004, 1:39 am
Posts: 4051
Location: Working on projects that make your life more fun.
RealPlayer will play the pls file, though a RAM file is very easy to create.

I an afraid I do not know about Jetaudio.

_________________
James Henline.
http://bestlittlestudio.com
For all your professional photography needs.
Semper Fi.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: .wma button
PostPosted: November 11th, 2008, 2:25 pm 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: August 18th, 2005, 10:25 am
Posts: 1254
a pls file won't put a website into a Winamp window. Does a RAM file do anything special like an asx file?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: .wma button
PostPosted: November 11th, 2008, 2:37 pm 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: May 8th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 10480
Location: Denver, CO
dj001 wrote:
a pls file won't put a website into a Winamp window. Does a RAM file do anything special like an asx file?

No it is a single entry and has no html command references that I am aware of.

_________________
- Rob Oyler, SVS
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group