Skip to Content
It is currently August 21st, 2014, 4:57 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: December 23rd, 2003, 10:45 pm 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: March 12th, 2003, 6:38 am
Posts: 302
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hi.

Sound Solution
http://www.tmsweb.dnsalias.com/download ... s12_CE.dll
Low CPU usage
Copy and paste to SAM2 plugin directory
Restart SAM and Configure Turn off Clipping
Go to Audio Pipeline Mixer Output DSP
Click. You will see the new selection. Check it and configure.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 2:43 am 
Yes, Its a really nice compresser

But i had the problem with the clipper to

I played around with all the settings because it ended up to loud and was making "chhh" noises a bit on the radio

Can you tell me yours settings you use on all your dialogs

Ethan


Top
  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 3:53 am 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: March 12th, 2003, 6:38 am
Posts: 302
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hi.

Use the default settings
Set Gated dB to -35
Set Output Level to 80 (Level)
turn off Clipping
Set SAM2 volume to 8
No matter what the song level is they all will be the same
output level.

Cheers

<Ethannz> wrote in message news:8188@spacialaudio.sam2.support...
> Yes, Its a really nice compresser
>
> But i had the problem with the clipper to
>
> I played around with all the settings because it ended up to loud and was
making "chhh" noises a bit on the radio
>
> Can you tell me yours settings you use on all your dialogs
>
> Ethan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 4:11 am 
I put the settings back to what you put
Quote:
Set Gated dB to -35
Set Output Level to 80 (Level)
turn off Clipping



"Set SAM2 volume to 8 " Weres this???

If i reinstall the sound solution dll file will it go back to default, because i played with every setting trying to get it to work but its because i didnt turn of the clipper

Ethan


Top
  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 4:47 am 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: March 12th, 2003, 6:38 am
Posts: 302
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hi.

Decks A & B
Volume level 2 notches from the top.
If you did not save your settings,
no problem, just restart SAM2
If you saved the seettings, go to the SAM2
directory and delete the file ss0.dat.
and Restart SAM2.

Cheers


<ethannz> wrote in message news:8191@spacialaudio.sam2.support...
> I put the settings back to what you put
> [quote:b9581599b0]Set Gated dB to -35
> Set Output Level to 80 (Level)
> turn off Clipping [/quote:b9581599b0]
>
>
> "Set SAM2 volume to 8 " Weres this???
>
> If i reinstall the sound solution dll file will it go back to default,
because i played with every setting trying to get it to work but its because
i didnt turn of the clipper
>
> Ethan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 4:51 am 
nah its really clickey know and that and i done everything you said

Ethan


Top
  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 5:30 am 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: March 12th, 2003, 6:38 am
Posts: 302
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hi.

I don't know what to tell you.
But you can hear it in action at
http://www.tps-1;net/play.m3u
That's for Winamp 2 with the mp3PRO plugin

Cheers



<ethannz> wrote in message news:8193@spacialaudio.sam2.support...
> nah its really clickey know and that and i done everything you said
>
> Ethan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 24th, 2003, 5:32 am 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: March 12th, 2003, 6:38 am
Posts: 302
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hi.


Sorry about the URL

http://www.tps-1.net/play.m3u

Cheers

"ThePower" <johnnkimm@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:8195@spacialaudio.sam2.support...
> Hi.
>
> I don't know what to tell you.
> But you can hear it in action at
> http://www.tps-1;net/play.m3u
> That's for Winamp 2 with the mp3PRO plugin
>
> Cheers
>
>
>
> <ethannz> wrote in message news:8193@spacialaudio.sam2.support...
> > nah its really clickey know and that and i done everything you said
> >
> > Ethan
>
>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 25th, 2003, 7:24 am 
It's still hogs the CPU dude. Any particular thing I should do before using it? I had the first Sound Solution and the 1.2B versh in my SAM but I ain't using it cos it's using 90 + CPU at one time... And this new one is still doing the same thing...


Top
  
 
PostPosted: December 25th, 2003, 4:34 pm 
yeah i find that it makes my computer really slow

I cant still find a good limitor and cant configure the default sam limets to the right level

Ethan


Top
  
 
PostPosted: December 26th, 2003, 12:14 pm 
The only processing that sounds even CLOSE to what radio should resemble is the complete Sound Solution package. It took me 3 weeks, but I have my processing set correctly as to emulate what the Orband Optimod would do (what just about every FM/TV uses). I use SS v1.2 (1.1 sounds a bit cleaner, but doesn't run in SAM2).

Take a listen: makradio.com (my specific station is Pulse, but I set up the processing on all 3).


Top
  
 
PostPosted: December 27th, 2003, 12:57 pm 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: March 31st, 2003, 7:34 pm
Posts: 1396
Location: Hobo Hut outside Spacial Audio
no link = no listen

_________________
-DJ Hot Ice


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 29th, 2003, 11:06 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:17 pm
Posts: 60
Location: East Coast
:lol:

No Link = No Listen

Good. Real good.

I've been running this and trying new things with it.

Yes, it is a cpu pig. But you have to consider the processing that is going on.

There are so many adjustments that any statement about 'just set it like this' is not helpful. I agree with ethannz. I played and played and managed to get the audio to sound like crap. More playing = Worse audio. The important thing to note is that you can set up several configurations and save them, then pull them back to compare them. Just DO NOT overwrite the default or you are hosed.

I'm running out to an FM exciter, so I was interested in the compression and pre-emphasis. Maybe when I get things stable with 2.7.7 I'll re-visit this.

Terra

_________________
Intel Dual PIII - 1000Mhz, 512Mb memory, Win2K Server (SP4) LAN attached to 1 Tb of Raid5 SCSI. IIS for SAM2 web frontend and Windows Media Server for streaming WMA. Shoutcast for MP3.

Output to ultra-low power FM (10mw), streaming WMA and Shoutcast MP3 (local LAN only).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 31st, 2003, 3:58 am 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: March 12th, 2003, 6:38 am
Posts: 302
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Hi.

There are things to take in mind when using the Tomass
Compressor/Limiter:

*Disable Clipping
*Use the CPU Economy DLL Version
*The Processes running other than SAM2
*A Fast CPU or one 800MHz or more.
*How much memory (System Resources)
*The OS you are using and its memory requirements

For more Help:

http://www.tmsweb.dnsalias.com/download ... lution.pdf

Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader:

http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html


Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 31st, 2003, 10:32 am 
I'd add one more thing . .

READ THE DOCUMENTATION! ( you have to download the normal version of the plug-in to get the PDF documentation, but don't use that DLL, use the economy one at the link! The other one won't work with SAM2 2.7.7)

I took time to read the documentation and actually figured out most of what everything controls.

After reading thg docs and going back to the controls I have achieved a very good sound and less CPU utilization.

There is, basicly, a parametric equalizer in there (Five bands processor - five band equalizer --> BAND GAIN ). I set the EQ to flat, where the default boosts the bass (where I had the most problems with over-deviation).

I left everything else in that section alone (compressor/expander/limiter).

I disabled the stereo expander, as it really didn't do much for me. (that saves some CPU).

I set the bass boost to 0. Don't need it.

I disabled the clipper. Since the clipper is really another form of compressor (with infinite compression at max - per docs) I shut it off. Saved some more CPU. This will reduce any protection from over-deviation, but I'm trusting the compression to keep things in range.

I set the output to 65%. No real rationale there, just a point that seems to sound good and drives the FM Exciter well.

There are other controls that either aren't documented (in the PDF) or I don't understand.
"APF" button
"15KLP" button
"Filter Bank II" button

Maybe there is a web site that has more about them. ( you have to download the normal version of the plug-in to get the PDF documentation, but don't use that DLL, use the economy one at the link! The other one won't work with SAM2 2.7.7)

In the end it sounds great. Just like the documentation says, you have to understand the controls and take some time working with them to get the sound the way you want it.

Terra


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group