Skip to Content
It is currently April 7th, 2020, 4:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 12:11 pm 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: January 6th, 2010, 3:35 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Las Vegas & Tokyo, Japan
I Have some MP3 tracks on my hard drive that were originally 192kbps and I'm wondering if there is any problem with leaving them alone, expecting SAM to take those192kbps files, encode to 128kbps to send out to the stream.
Am I correct in thinking that or am I going to be faced with a major editing project?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 12:20 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: October 14th, 2006, 9:38 am
Posts: 5986
Location: Deep in the heart of the PRNJ
Re-encoding always further degrades a file. Going down (192 --> 128) shouldn't be too much of a problem. "Upcoding" always sounds awful because you're trying to encode stuff that simply isn't there any more.

If you must use lossy files as source material, try to get the highest bitrate files you can.

_________________
- Stan Olochwoszcz
A proud licensed SAM user since 2002

Raritan Bay Radio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 12:28 pm 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: January 6th, 2010, 3:35 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Las Vegas & Tokyo, Japan
So Stan, are you saying I can leave those 192 files alone and SAM won't have any problem ecoding them down to 128???

Biggest reason I ask is because I do get Warning: Failed to play such and such messages (without explanation as to why) every once in a while, and I'm wondering why it skipped the track..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 12:45 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: October 14th, 2006, 9:38 am
Posts: 5986
Location: Deep in the heart of the PRNJ
Most likely some corruption. Check your log & see if it's always the same file.

I have files that range from 128 to 320k. SAM encodes them with no problem.

_________________
- Stan Olochwoszcz
A proud licensed SAM user since 2002

Raritan Bay Radio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: February 16th, 2010, 3:31 pm 
Offline
Experienced User
Experienced User

Joined: January 6th, 2010, 3:35 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Las Vegas & Tokyo, Japan
It has occured on various files. I have so many that the same track has yet to play again since I started the test almost a month ago.. I'll go back and look at the log, find out which track didn't play, pull it and run it on a couple of my other machines to check for corruption, or perhaps even a zero byte file that incorrectly reports a regular runtime..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group