Skip to Content
It is currently August 1st, 2014, 8:51 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: November 30th, 2008, 2:01 am 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: July 23rd, 2008, 4:16 pm
Posts: 72
Location: NJ
Alrighty, yet another problem. I was working with Andrew regarding a problem with the album art, and have seemed to fix that problem. I am using the "Use passive FTP mode" in SAM > Config > HTML output and it works fine, but I have been trying to use Reports and it just will not connect. I need to connect to the Reports because I post certain information on the station's website via the Reports. They used to work.. But now they are not. I have checked certain files, but I am not sure of all of the files I am supposed to check.

I have been reading post after post after post here at the forums and cannot find the answer to my problem, so I thought I would create a new thread so I could get this problem resolved by the best. I look forward to your responses. You are always great at assisting and helping people resolve their problems, so I know we'll repair this minor issue... Thank you.

I am using SAM version 4.3.6 using MySQL.

Any other information you need, just let me know.

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner

_________________
Image
-----------------Visit NJ's Classic Rock Station - Jersey's Classic Rock!-----------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 30th, 2008, 8:55 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: May 8th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 9965
Location: Denver, CO
Need more info, are you trying to run reports locally? Is your database local?

_________________
- Rob Oyler
- Spacial Volunteer Support (SVS)
Smooth Contemporary Jazz Channel:
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: November 30th, 2008, 11:57 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: July 23rd, 2008, 4:16 pm
Posts: 72
Location: NJ
What do you mean locally? Could you perhaps give me a bit more information? I used to go to Tools > Reports and I got my reports for my requests, etc from there. All of the sudden, I get a "Page Cannot Be Displayed." So, let's get this fixed, let me know precisely what you need DJ. :)

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner

_________________
Image
-----------------Visit NJ's Classic Rock Station - Jersey's Classic Rock!-----------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 2:31 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: July 23rd, 2008, 4:16 pm
Posts: 72
Location: NJ
Not rushing anyone here, just wondering if anyone has any answer to this problem? It seems like it is a problem that many people do not know the answer to? Reports are very important to me because I use them on the station's website as well, so I need to be able to see what the stats were for requests, etc. About a month or so ago, they worked perfectly. I mean, every now and then there would be a "Can Not Connect To Webpage" error, but now it happens all the time. Very odd.

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner

_________________
Image
-----------------Visit NJ's Classic Rock Station - Jersey's Classic Rock!-----------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 2:39 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: December 20th, 2006, 9:23 pm
Posts: 12212
Location: Show Low, AZ
I'm having similar issues...

I can access Reporter fine, choose my report and click GENERATE REPORT, but when the browser opens, I get the dreaded:
Code:
status=err
SQL error=Could not connect to MySQL server


My firewall is open, and this is the machine SAM and MySQL are running on. At one point it did work... not sure when it stopped as I generally don't use REPORTER much at all.

Submitted ticket to support, but would be open to suggestions.

_________________
Andrew Cannon
(SVS) Spacial Volunteer Support

WE DANCE AS ONE: A Celebration In Groove
All That Is GOOD In Dance Music from the
70's, 80's, 90's and Now... plus some of the
best DJs from around the world.
http://www.wda1.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 4:00 pm 
Offline
Cygnus X-1
Cygnus X-1

Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:34 pm
Posts: 9960
Location: Maui, HI
FWIW I have not dabbled with the Reporter in many years, hence the lurking only by me.
I prefer to write my own components integrated with the website, not as a separate module, available to admins/moderators.

_________________
- Steve Kunitzer
- SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support) / Forum Administrator

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 4:05 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: December 20th, 2006, 9:23 pm
Posts: 12212
Location: Show Low, AZ
Thanks Fester. I rarely use it, only for my own sake... I just know that there are others that like using it. Just figured I'd put it out there. I'm curious as to why for some reason since I last used it several months ago, that all of a sudden it's not working.

_________________
Andrew Cannon
(SVS) Spacial Volunteer Support

WE DANCE AS ONE: A Celebration In Groove
All That Is GOOD In Dance Music from the
70's, 80's, 90's and Now... plus some of the
best DJs from around the world.
http://www.wda1.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 5:03 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: July 23rd, 2008, 4:16 pm
Posts: 72
Location: NJ
Well, the fact of the matter is it is a part of SAM and it should really work, right? I don't want to be mr. negative, but I paid for SAM, I should at least be able to run reports. Perhaps this should be a little higher up on the issue(s) chain? I spoke with Andrew and I appreciate your help buddy, and I hope we could fix this problem once and for all.

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner

_________________
Image
-----------------Visit NJ's Classic Rock Station - Jersey's Classic Rock!-----------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 5:23 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: December 20th, 2006, 9:23 pm
Posts: 12212
Location: Show Low, AZ
I'm presently in the middle of a support ticket w/ Support. Will let you know.

_________________
Andrew Cannon
(SVS) Spacial Volunteer Support

WE DANCE AS ONE: A Celebration In Groove
All That Is GOOD In Dance Music from the
70's, 80's, 90's and Now... plus some of the
best DJs from around the world.
http://www.wda1.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 7:46 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: July 23rd, 2008, 4:16 pm
Posts: 72
Location: NJ
Thanks Andrew. Looking forward to hearing what the deal is.

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner

_________________
Image
-----------------Visit NJ's Classic Rock Station - Jersey's Classic Rock!-----------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 10:40 pm 
Offline
Cygnus X-1
Cygnus X-1

Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:34 pm
Posts: 9960
Location: Maui, HI
From what I can tell there are 2 files for database information:
1. C:\Program Files\SpacialAudio\SAMBC\SAMReporter\htdocs\dbconfig.xml.php
2. C:\Program Files\SpacialAudio\SAMBC\SAMReporter\htdocs\common\config.php

The first file has database information as entered during SAM install; the second does not.
Try changing the values in the second file.

_________________
- Steve Kunitzer
- SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support) / Forum Administrator

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 1st, 2008, 10:49 pm 
Offline
Alumni
Alumni

Joined: December 20th, 2006, 9:23 pm
Posts: 12212
Location: Show Low, AZ
I've altered #2 in several different ways... to no avail. Still getting the same issue.

_________________
Andrew Cannon
(SVS) Spacial Volunteer Support

WE DANCE AS ONE: A Celebration In Groove
All That Is GOOD In Dance Music from the
70's, 80's, 90's and Now... plus some of the
best DJs from around the world.
http://www.wda1.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2008, 1:04 am 
Offline
Cygnus X-1
Cygnus X-1

Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:34 pm
Posts: 9960
Location: Maui, HI
FWIW I was able to run the SAMReporter.exe installed with SAM without changes and it worked fine as-is when clicking the Open reports in external browser link.
Looks like it's using a mini-PHP on http://localhost:10080/

Are you guys using the Reports on a remote website with the database separated by the Internet.

_________________
- Steve Kunitzer
- SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support) / Forum Administrator

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2008, 3:36 am 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: July 23rd, 2008, 4:16 pm
Posts: 72
Location: NJ
Fester, what do you mean, database separated by the internet? I also tried editing the 2nd config file. For some reason, by default, in the 2nd config file, it shows me that by port there are no "" next to the port number, which is odd, shouldn't there be? And under password it is blank, and the database is different than the other config file, but I tried adding the same results as in the first database, but no change. I doubt I would have to turn SAM off and turn it back on in order for the changes to take effect. I can't just keep switching SAM on and off, I have listeners tuned in 24/7, and they would be a bit annoyed.

I do appreciate the assistance to resolve this problem however! :)

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner

_________________
Image
-----------------Visit NJ's Classic Rock Station - Jersey's Classic Rock!-----------------


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2008, 9:24 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: May 8th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 9965
Location: Denver, CO
JFreeden wrote:
Fester, what do you mean, database separated by the internet? I also tried editing the 2nd config file. For some reason, by default, in the 2nd config file, it shows me that by port there are no "" next to the port number, which is odd, shouldn't there be? And under password it is blank, and the database is different than the other config file, but I tried adding the same results as in the first database, but no change. I doubt I would have to turn SAM off and turn it back on in order for the changes to take effect. I can't just keep switching SAM on and off, I have listeners tuned in 24/7, and they would be a bit annoyed.

I do appreciate the assistance to resolve this problem however! :)

Best Regards,

JJ the DJ
Jersey's Classic Rock - Owner
there should not be any quotes in the xml file. But your username, database and password should certainly contain the sam log in info as contained in your SAMBC.CORE.XML

_________________
- Rob Oyler
- Spacial Volunteer Support (SVS)
Smooth Contemporary Jazz Channel:
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group