Skip to Content
It is currently December 12th, 2017, 11:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Restreaming SAM pro
PostPosted: October 22nd, 2017, 1:07 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: May 12th, 2017, 9:23 am
Posts: 31
Hello
You folks have helped so much and bailed me out many times.
I saw a youtube vid....https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_WLsbHGd0Q

This guy has excellent vids on youtube that have helped me to get SAM running. Looks so easy, till it doesn't work.
I want to re-stream a friend's audio stream for a couple of hours to give him some 'air time'
I enter his URL http:// stream info
copy/paste into the event scheduler to play from a URL and I clik ok.
Wait for the appointed time to pass and SAM skips right over the event and moves on with whatever clockwheel is running. The video shows later where to get a PAL script to STOP the event. But that's not needed to start. Looks so simple.
Does SAM need the actual IP address?? the port number looks like another hurdle
Or can the usual stream info be sufficient? I cannot even re-stream my stream through SAM. I go to my provider and copy/paste the URL info, that I would normally use to share my station to iTunes, TuneIn ,etc etc. and that link works in those players and the player on my website. But not in SAM Pro
What am I missing? If this is an old thread and has been hashed through before; and there's a solution please give me a link.
Fred


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restreaming SAM pro
PostPosted: October 23rd, 2017, 7:03 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: December 6th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 7380
Location: Aachen (Germany)
You'll need to have the direct stream URL.
Sometimes you only get a landing page or something if the requesting entity isn't a known media player (which SAM isn't for the most part).

Other than that, the URL with the port (Icecast / Shoutcast2 might require an endpoint/slot/mountpoint after the port) should be enough.

_________________
Benedikt Bauer - SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support)

We're offering custom PAL / PHP code and general SAM assistance at palscripts.com

My Project:
Send "Now Playing" from SAM to Twitter and/or Facebook | Sourcecode


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restreaming SAM pro
PostPosted: October 23rd, 2017, 7:19 am 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: May 12th, 2017, 9:23 am
Posts: 31
Thanks always. I'll copy / paste your reply to my friend and see what he comes up with. I'm looking for the easy way out. I don't want to have to set up an account on my streaming service for him to be a guest DJ and then I have to program my station to stop broadcasting, turning off-on encoders for his time slot. Restreaming through SAM seems so nice.
Fred Cresce


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restreaming SAM pro
PostPosted: October 23rd, 2017, 8:44 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: December 6th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 7380
Location: Aachen (Germany)
If you're willing to share the URL, we could give you a hint on how to change the URL.

_________________
Benedikt Bauer - SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support)

We're offering custom PAL / PHP code and general SAM assistance at palscripts.com

My Project:
Send "Now Playing" from SAM to Twitter and/or Facebook | Sourcecode


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restreaming SAM pro
PostPosted: October 23rd, 2017, 9:15 am 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: May 12th, 2017, 9:23 am
Posts: 31
OK Thank You Mastacheata.
Here is his URL

http://the-magic-carpet.com:8000/stream.aac

He's encoded using AAC. SAM can play AAC, I think. But it will go out to my streaming service as 128kbps MP3??

Should he encode using MP3 from the get-go and skip the decode-encode process to make his AAC an MP3??

The audio from SAM on my website player is awesome!! Rivals the best FM audio processors out there. The Youtube tutorials on audio adjustments are really good. Someone there has a good ear.
Thank
Fred


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Restreaming SAM pro
PostPosted: November 6th, 2017, 6:53 pm 
Offline
Junior User
Junior User

Joined: May 12th, 2017, 9:23 am
Posts: 31
Good news. If the information for re-streaming is a valid IP address with the colon and port number; it works perfectly. Another friend of mine wants to get on my station with his oldies show. He gave me the actual IP address he sends to his provider and it worked perfectly in SAM Pro. http:// and all of the numbers and decimal points the colon and port number. works perfectly

Fred


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group