Skip to Content
It is currently October 22nd, 2020, 4:17 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 1st, 2018, 8:17 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: August 7th, 2018, 7:29 am
Posts: 17
I am running SAM 2018.2. I am having a continuous problem with Windows 10 locking up when running SAM.

Sometime it happens within a few minutes and sometimes it could be 2 or 3 days after starting the program. It does not seem to occur during any particular track. A particular track could play 10 times. Then on one play it will freeze up.

There are no other errors. The track just freezes and Windows locks up. I have to completely reboot the program to restart SAM.

This is really getting old. I have tried adjusting various settings in the configuration. (Packets and Buffers, etc.)

Let me know if there is anything else I can offer for information to help this. I would give anything to have a setup that would run with out freezes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 7:49 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: May 8th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 10516
Location: Denver, CO
Are you running any PAL scripts? That is a common issue of memory leak concerns which causes SAM to lock up.

I would also suggest you run verify tracks to make sure SAM knows where all your tracks are.

_________________
- Rob Oyler, SVS
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 7:55 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: August 7th, 2018, 7:29 am
Posts: 17
Yes I am running one PAL script for station ID. I will turn it off and see what happens.

I will also check and verify the music.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 7:58 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: August 7th, 2018, 7:29 am
Posts: 17
Is the PAL script issue being addressed? How do I run station IDs if I can not use PAL scripts?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 8:16 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: May 8th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 10516
Location: Denver, CO
There is nothing wrong with PAL scripts, it is how they are written (or poorly written) that MAY cause a memory leak, without seeing your PAL script is would only be speculation that it is any cause for the lock up.

_________________
- Rob Oyler, SVS
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 13th, 2018, 10:11 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: August 7th, 2018, 7:29 am
Posts: 17
Is the script issue being addressed? How do we do station Ids and stuff?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 14th, 2018, 2:19 pm 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: December 6th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 8084
Location: Cologne (Germany)
WMI wrote:
Is the PAL script issue being addressed? How do I run station IDs if I can not use PAL scripts?

Just add them to your normal rotation. Every X tracks play a station ID. If you'd rather play them in specific time intervals, use the Event Scheduler.
What strange use case do you have that makes it neccessary to use PAL for such a simple task as scheduling a Station ID?

Memory Leaks are an inherent problem of how the PAL engine is designed. If you design bad PAL scripts, you get memory leaks. And it's easier to design a bad PAL script than to design a good one. But it's not like Memory Leaks were an unavoidable problem or a bug in the engine.

_________________
Benedikt Bauer - SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support)

Shop for readymade PAL scripts by countrywesterndj - Or get a custom script made by me (or others)

My Project:
Send "Now Playing" from SAM to Twitter and/or Facebook | Sourcecode


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: November 15th, 2018, 9:08 am 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: August 7th, 2018, 7:29 am
Posts: 17
Ok, so I just added the IDs to the rotation within the config. It has been up for three days now without an issue.

As far designing a good or bad Pal script - I really have no clue how to do that. So I will stick with the internal configuration. All I wanted was a station ID every 15 minutes and a call for a commercial break from my provider.
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 Lock Up
PostPosted: July 8th, 2020, 7:36 pm 
Offline
New User
New User

Joined: August 7th, 2018, 7:29 am
Posts: 17
This issue is resolved. Turned out to be a conflict between the mouse pad on the laptop and the USB mouse. Turned off the mouse pad on the laptop and it all went away.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 58 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group