Skip to Content
It is currently February 25th, 2021, 11:11 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Port 1221
PostPosted: October 7th, 2020, 9:21 am 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: August 18th, 2005, 10:25 am
Posts: 1321
I am running SAM 4.9.8 in Windows 7, and need to open Port 1221. I uninstalled Norton. In Control Panel/System and Security/Windows Firewall/Advanced settings, I followed these instructions https://is.gd/1dpaUJto create two new Rules: SAM 1221 inbound allowing sambc.exe to use Port 1221 and SAM 1221 Outbound as well. I also turned off the Windows Firewall.

Now I believe I must do the same thing with my router. However, I don't understand how to to this in the panel https://is.gd/U9bbKT. I don't know which drop-down to use in the Famous Server list, and what is the Remote or Local IP.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Port 1221
PostPosted: October 7th, 2020, 10:31 am 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: December 6th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 8152
Location: Cologne (Germany)
Service Name is an arbitrary name you can choose to identify this rule later on. It has only descriptive purpose.

For remote IP/CIDR, you could enter the IP-Address of your own webserver when using the PHP templates or the IP of the AudioRealm server proxying the HTTP Requests. However I would advise to leave this empty and keep it open to requests from any server. That's not quite as secure, but way easier to handle and gives you less options to shoot yourself in the foot.

Local IP should be the IP address of the computer running SAM.
Your local IP is from one of these 3 ranges:
Code:
    10.0. 0.0/8 IP addresses: 10.0. 0.0 – 10.255. 255.255.
    172.16. 0.0/12 IP addresses: 172.16. 0.0 – 172.31. 255.255.
    192.168. 0.0/16 IP addresses: 192.168. 0.0 – 192.168. 255.255.

_________________
Benedikt Bauer - SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support)

Shop for readymade PAL scripts by countrywesterndj - Or get a custom script made by me (or others)

My Project:
Send "Now Playing" from SAM to Twitter and/or Facebook | Sourcecode


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Port 1221
PostPosted: October 7th, 2020, 10:45 am 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: August 18th, 2005, 10:25 am
Posts: 1321
Mastacheata wrote:
Service Name is an arbitrary name you can choose to identify this rule later on. It has only descriptive purpose.

For remote IP/CIDR, you could enter the IP-Address of your own webserver when using the PHP templates or the IP of the AudioRealm server proxying the HTTP Requests. However I would advise to leave this empty and keep it open to requests from any server. That's not quite as secure, but way easier to handle and gives you less options to shoot yourself in the foot.

Local IP should be the IP address of the computer running SAM.
Your local IP is from one of these 3 ranges:
Code:
    10.0. 0.0/8 IP addresses: 10.0. 0.0 – 10.255. 255.255.
    172.16. 0.0/12 IP addresses: 172.16. 0.0 – 172.31. 255.255.
    192.168. 0.0/16 IP addresses: 192.168. 0.0 – 192.168. 255.255.


OK I chose HTTP Server, 127.0.0.1 for remote and 64.132.178.89 for local, Both for protocol, but when I click the Add button, it says 64.132.178.89 is not a valid IP address.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Port 1221
PostPosted: October 7th, 2020, 12:05 pm 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: May 8th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 10524
Location: Denver, CO
Not sure what router that is, but it appears to be configuring for an IPv6 and not IPv4 which is what you want to be doing. You should be port forwarding in your local router, isn't there an option for that?

_________________
- Rob Oyler, SVS
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Port 1221
PostPosted: October 7th, 2020, 12:37 pm 
Offline
Super User
Super User

Joined: August 18th, 2005, 10:25 am
Posts: 1321
DJ Cassio wrote:
Not sure what router that is, but it appears to be configuring for an IPv6 and not IPv4 which is what you want to be doing. You should be port forwarding in your local router, isn't there an option for that?
I can't find IPv4, and I the screen I sent here is the local router control panel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Port 1221
PostPosted: October 7th, 2020, 9:06 pm 
Offline
SVS Member
SVS Member

Joined: December 6th, 2004, 9:00 am
Posts: 8152
Location: Cologne (Germany)
DJ Cassio wrote:
Not sure what router that is, but it appears to be configuring for an IPv6 and not IPv4 which is what you want to be doing. You should be port forwarding in your local router, isn't there an option for that?

You mix up the option for enabling the IPv6 Firewall (usually IPv6 traffic isn't subject to NAT and will go through unhindered) and the Port-Forwarding.\

To me the UI looks perfectly fine.

dj001 wrote:
Mastacheata wrote:
Code:
    10.0. 0.0/8 IP addresses: 10.0. 0.0 – 10.255. 255.255.
    172.16. 0.0/12 IP addresses: 172.16. 0.0 – 172.31. 255.255.
    192.168. 0.0/16 IP addresses: 192.168. 0.0 – 192.168. 255.255.


OK I chose HTTP Server, 127.0.0.1 for remote and 64.132.178.89 for local, Both for protocol, but when I click the Add button, it says 64.132.178.89 is not a valid IP address.


127.0.0.1 as remote means only data originating from the router itself may pass.
64.132.178.89 as local IP address means you tell the router to send data through it's internal network ports to an outside address (I assume this is your own address? => In that case you tell the router to find another internet gateway in your local network and send information that way out to the internet and back into your router creating an endless loop.)

The Remote IP must be either empty or an internet-routable IP address of the server that sends requests to your computer. (This is never the computer of your listeners, but always either the Audiorealm server when using HTML-Templates or your own webhosting server when using the PHP templates) As Audiorealm has multiple IP addresses and changes these every couple of years, I recommend leaving that field empty. And by empty I mean empty, not 127.0.0.1, not your local IP address, not your public IP address, just !!!!EMPTY!!!!

As I said before the local IP must be a LOCAL/PRIVATE IP address. The IP address for the LOCAL IP field must be from one of these three ranges:
Code:
    10.0. 0.0/8 IP addresses: 10.0. 0.0 – 10.255. 255.255.
    172.16. 0.0/12 IP addresses: 172.16. 0.0 – 172.31. 255.255.
    192.168. 0.0/16 IP addresses: 192.168. 0.0 – 192.168. 255.255.


Which of these ranges depends on your router settings. Common ones are the 192.168.0 block or the 192.168.178 block. If in doubt open a command prompt on the SAM machine and enter the command ipconfig.
The output of that command can be quite long depending on what software is installed on your computer. (mine has about 100 different network interfaces listed for various virtual systems that run on my computer, but it's typical to have at least 3 or 4 interfaces listed there for stuff like wifi, ethernet, bluetooth, etc)
Find the one that has an IPv4 address listed on Default Gateway (my screenshot has the German labels, so here it says Standardgateway).

Here's a screenshot of how that output might look like:
https://pasteboard.co/JuCQpbd.png

You're looking for the entry named IPv4-Address. That IP address needs to go into the Local IP field in your router config interface.

_________________
Benedikt Bauer - SVS (Spacial Volunteer Support)

Shop for readymade PAL scripts by countrywesterndj - Or get a custom script made by me (or others)

My Project:
Send "Now Playing" from SAM to Twitter and/or Facebook | Sourcecode


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group