Skip to Content
It is currently July 21st, 2019, 5:47 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: May 19th, 2018, 6:14 pm 
New User
New User

I saw more people requesting such a script but I did not find a solution, so I wrote a script myself. I am not an expert when it comes to PAL scripting, so I used code from another topic in this forum.

This script will seperate the artists when there are 2 or more artists singing a song and update the field date_artist_played in the MySQL database for every artist.

Let me explain this with an example: Sam Broadcaster sees "Michael Jackson" And "Michael Jackson & Paul McCartney" as 2 different artists. So no matter how much time you have entered in the "Do not play same artist within XX minutes" field under the playlist rotation rules, Sam can play a song of "Michael Jackson" and a song of "Michael Jackson & Paul McCartney" next to each other. This is not what you want.

When SB plays "Michael Jackson - Thriller" the program will update the field date_artist_played for all Michael Jackson songs which were sang by him alone. This script will also find the songs Michael sang with other artists like "Michael Jackson & Paul McCartney" , "Stevie Wonder & Michael Jackson" , "Michael Jackson & The Jackson 5" , "Wiz Stars & Michael Jackson & Diana Ross" etc and update the records in the database

What is very important for this script to work properly is that you have all the songs correctly spelled with the same delimiter. It is only possible to specify one delimiter, in the examples above it's always the '&' character, but if you have 'ft' or 'AND' or ',' or '+' you can specify it in the script and (I guess) it will work.

I have not tested everything. And since I am not an expert I don't know if I can help with all problems you run into. So help from other members of the board is appreciated.